Skip to main content
Fine & Rare
France’s golden region
Discover the region renowned for the finest Chardonnay and Pinot Noir.

Burgundy sends wine lovers into raptures for its role producing arguably the world’s finest chardonnay and pinot noir. The best of these wines are upheld as the global benchmarks of these varietals. With more than 100 appellations, Burgundy’s limestone and clay-based soils have produced wine since the first century.

Burgundy has five key subregions each known for their focus on specific varietals and styles, and the wines’ traits vary hugely, depending on terroir. Discovering where your own tastes lie is part of the journey.

The five key areas of Burgundy winemaking are:

  • Côte de Nuits: famous for its top Pinot Noir
  • Côte de Beaune: rich Chardonnay; elegant pinot noir
  • Chablis: minerally, flinty chardonnay
    Mâconnais: great-value, riper chardonnay styles
  • Côte Chalonnaise: the white grape aligote and sparklings.

Become a family & friends member

Sign up to our exclusive list to receive priority updates on undiscovered wines and vintages new to the Envied Cellar.

You’ll be guided by James Dossan’s expertise as he sources some of the finest wines being made available in Australia.